Static-Stage
When your assignment
provides an abundance
of experiences
When your assignment provides an abundance of experiences
Team works! is your chance to broaden your professional and personal horizons as well as putting your expertise to good use. A unique learning opportunity that brings people together across continents.
 
When you find the special
in the ordinary
When you find the special in the ordinary
From lunch breaks to project completions, you share your working day with your colleagues on the partner continent, gaining new perspectives in the process.
 
When your preparation
fills you with anticipation
When your preparation fills you with anticipation
To ensure a safe and meaningful exchange, Team works! arranges a virtual introductory tandem meeting, provides global learning courses and organises your travel and accommodation.
 

Program line Team works!

Team works! Young Expert Exchange for Sustainable Development

Team works! brings together young experts and more experienced ones in a tandem team to help promote sustainable development. Working in cooperation with the Senior Experten Service (SES), the AGYO gives young professionals the opportunity to undertake a four-week assignment in Africa or Germany. Both the experts themselves and the enterprises they are assigned to benefit from this exchange of ideas and knowledge between two generations and two continents.

The advantages for you as a young expert

  1. Your expertise counts - and grows
  2. Representing your generation, you share new perspectives and ideas
  3. You are part of an international team working for a shared cause
  4. You take a bold step in a new direction - with support from others
  5. You gain a better awareness of yourself, the world and your possibilities
  6. You make a contribution to sustainable development

BECOMING PART OF TEAM WORKS!

01 FINDING OUT MORE

Think this might be for you? If you’re a young expert from Germany, you’ll find more details in the Team works! in Africa section. Young experts from African countries can find out more in the Team works! in Germany section.

02 FORMING A TANDEM TEAM

The expert exchanges with Team works! are run by our partner, the Senior Experten Service (SES). They find an experienced expert to support you before and during your assignment. This person will already be familiar with your place of assignment on the other continent.

03 MAKING PREPARATIONS

You will be given thorough preparation for your assignment – from language lessons to information about your place of assignment through to global learning. In addition, the SES will look after all the organisational aspects, helping you with your travel plans, visa application and finding accommodation.

04 CARRYING OUT YOUR ASSIGNMENT

Your assignment will last roughly four weeks, during which you’ll discover how they work in your host enterprise and be able to share your own experiences. Working as an international team, you are sure to find lots of things in common and you will have the chance to discuss different approaches and develop new ideas.

05 LIVING AND WORKING ABROAD

You’ll find out about life in your country of assignment and meet lots of new people - at work or out shopping in your neighbourhood, for example. These encounters will give you a new perspective on global issues and ideas on how to help solve them.

06 EVALUATING YOUR ASSIGNMENT

After your assignment, we will explore how it has helped you develop and what we could improve. We hope you will have had a chance to forge lots of valuable contacts and friendships, connect you with other alumni and advise you on further engagement opportunities.

REQUIREMENTS FOR PARTICIPATION

  1. You are between 18 and 30 years old.
  2. You are either a trainee in the third year of apprenticeship…
  3. … or a young professional in your first years of work.
  4. You want to get involved in social and development activities.
  5. You are flexible in terms of time - we have to find a suitable assignment for you first.
  6. Your employer will have to grant you leave for the duration of your assignment.

I'D LIKE TO GET INVOLVED! I'M ...

Getting involved in Team works!

Are you between 18 and 30, nearing the end of your training or already have a few years’ work experience and would like to apply for an assignment with Team works!? Then take a look here for detailed information about what we can offer you and what to do next.

Hosting experts/sending experts on assignment

Would your business or welfare/healthcare organisation like to host a young expert or send a young expert on an assignment? We can help you during the planning and preparatory stage and during the actual assignment. Simply contact our partner, SES:

Register with SES now

Would you like to volunteer with Team works!, use your expertise to promote international development and support young people on assignment in an African country or Germany? If so, create a profile in the SES database or contact us direct if you have any questions or suggestions.

Interviews

Max Orthey, born 1999, chemical laboratory assistant, third-year trainee, from Cologne, Germany.

»I think it’s important to get to know other cultures because it gives you a different perspective on your own culture.«

Tamryn Iyer, born 1996, social scientist from Durban, South Africa.

»I’ve already benefited from an opportunity to gain international experience. You learn to think globally and I think it would be great for others to learn that too. That’s why I’m such a fan of this programme!«

NEWS

Bonn-based Senior Experten Service (SES) will play a key role as a partner in the newly established African-German Youth Office (AGYO). The SES will be running Team works!, one of the two programmes to be offered by the Youth Office, which was announced today in the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) in Berlin. The move means a stepping up of the SES’ activities in the field of African-German expert exchange.

Learn more

Introducing our partner: the Senior Experten Service (SES)

The Senior Experten Service (SES) is Germany’s largest volunteering organisation for experts and managers who have either retired or are taking a career break with Weltdienst 30+. Its approximately 12,000 experts from all sectors share their knowledge on assignments in Germany and abroad. On their international assignments they mainly work with small and medium enterprises, public administration bodies, welfare or healthcare facilities and institutions of basic and vocational education. The SES implements the Team works! programme on AGYO’s behalf. The Team works! tandem assignments, in which a more experienced expert and a young expert join forces, add a new component to the SES offering – inntergenerational cooperation. A boost to the AGYO - and the SES!

Visit the SES website

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals

In 2015, the United Nations agreed on 17 global sustainable development goals, which are set out in a “global contract for the future”- Agenda 2030. The AGYO is among the organisations aiming to help ensure these goals are met. With this in mind, each Team works! project explicitly addresses at least one of the SDG.

Static-Stage
Wenn aus deinem Einsatz ein Erfahrungsschatz wird.
Wenn aus deinem Einsatz ein Erfahrungsschatz wird.
Eigene Kompetenzen einbringen und erweitern: Die fachlichen und persönlichen Begegnungen ermöglichen einzigartige Einblicke und einmalige Erfahrungen. Und sie verbinden Menschen über Kontinente.
 
Wenn du das Besondere im Alltäglichen findest.
Wenn du das Besondere im Alltäglichen findest.
Auf dem Nachbarkontinent mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen den Berufsalltag teilen: Team works! ermöglicht, die Perspektive zu wechseln – von der gemeinsamen Mittagspause bis zum Projektabschluss.
 
Wenn deine
Vorbereitung zu
Vorfreude wird.
Wenn deine Vorbereitung zu Vorfreude wird.
Virtuelles Kennenlernen im Tandem, Trainings zu Globalem Lernen, Organisation von Anreise und Unterbringung: Team works! schafft die Voraussetzungen für einen sicheren und wertvollen Austausch.
 

Programmlinie Teams up!

Team works! Fachkräftebegegnungen für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Zusammen stark: Mit Team works! bilden junge und erfahrene Fachkräfte ein Tandem für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Gemeinsam mit dem Senior Experten Service (SES) ermöglicht das DAJW jungen Berufstätigen vierwöchige Einsätze auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent und in Deutschland. Vom Austausch der Erfahrungen und Ideen zweier Generationen und Kontinente profitieren die Fachkräfte und die Einsatzstellen.

Deine Vorteile als junge Fachkraft

  1. Deine fachlichen Erfahrungen zählen – und werden mehr.
  2. Du leistest einen Beitrag zu nachhaltiger Entwicklung.
  3. Du bist Teil eines internationalen Teams für eine gemeinsame Sache.
  4. Du wagst einen neuen Schritt – und bist dabei nicht allein.
  5. Du lernst dich selbst, die Welt und deine Möglichkeiten besser kennen.
  6. Du bringst als Stimme deiner Generation neue Perspektiven und Ideen ein.

DEIN WEG ZU TEAM WORKS!

01 INFORMIEREN

Du bist neugierig geworden und kannst dir vorstellen, selbst teilzunehmen? Dann findest du als junge Fachkraft aus Deutschland genaue Details im Bereich Team works! in Afrika. Als junge Fachkraft aus einem afrikanischen Land findest du spezifische Informationen bei Team works! in Deutschland.

02 TANDEM BILDEN

Die Fachkräftebegegnungen mit Team works! werden von unserem Partner, dem Senior Experten Service (SES), durchgeführt. Eine vom SES vermittelte, erfahrene Fachkraft unterstützt dich vor und während deines Einsatzes. Deine Einsatzstelle auf dem anderen Kontinent ist der Fachkraft bereits bekannt.

03 VORBEREITUNG

Auf deinen Einsatz wirst du gut vorbereitet: vom Sprachkurs über Informationen zum Einsatzort bis hin zu Globalem Lernen. Der SES kümmert sich zudem um alles Organisatorische. Er unterstützt dich bei der Reiseplanung, der Visabeantragung und der Vermittlung einer Unterkunft.

04 DEIN EINSATZ

Während deines circa vierwöchigen Einsatzes lernst du die Arbeit in einem anderen Betrieb kennen und bringst deine eigenen Erfahrungen ein. Als internationales Team entdeckt ihr sicher viele Gemeinsamkeiten, tauscht euch über unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen aus und entwickelt neue Ideen.

05 DEIN ALLTAG VOR ORT

Du lernst das Leben in deinem Einsatzland kennen und begegnest vielen neuen Menschen, im Kollegium oder auch beim Einkaufen in deiner Nachbarschaft. So gewinnst du neue Blickwinkel auf globale Zusammenhänge und Ideen, diese mitzugestalten.

06 DIE ZEIT DANACH

Gemeinsam wollen wir lernen: Wie hat dein Einsatz dich weitergebracht? Was können wir besser machen? Wir hoffen, dass du viele wertvolle Kontakte und Freundschaften knüpfen konntest, bringen dich mit anderen Ehemaligen zusammen und beraten dich zu weiteren Engagementmöglichkeiten.

FORMALE UND PERSÖNLICHE TEILNAHME-VORAUSSETZUNGEN

  1. Du bist zwischen 18 und 30 Jahre alt.
  2. Du bist entweder Auszubildende oder Auszubildender im dritten Lehrjahr…
  3. … oder eine junge Fachkraft in deinen ersten Berufsjahren.
  4. Du möchtest dich gesellschaftlich und entwicklungspolitisch engagieren.
  5. Du bist zeitlich flexibel – wir müssen erst einen passenden Einsatzplatz für dich finden.
  6. Deine Arbeitgeberin oder dein Arbeitgeber stellt dich für die Dauer des Einsatzes frei.

ICH MÖCHTE TEILNEHMEN ALS ...

Mach mit bei Team works!

Du bist zwischen 18 und 30 Jahre alt, stehst am Ende deiner Ausbildung oder hast schon einige Jahre Berufserfahrung und möchtest dich für einen Einsatz mit Team works! bewerben? Dann findest du hier ausführliche Informationen zu unseren Angeboten und den nächsten Schritten:

Fachkräfte aufnehmen oder entsenden

Ihr Betrieb oder Unternehmen, Ihre soziale oder medizinische Einrichtung möchte eine junge Fachkraft aufnehmen oder entsenden? Wir unterstützen Sie bei Planung, Vorbereitung und Durchführung des Einsatzes. Nehmen Sie mit unserem Partner, dem Senior Experten Service (SES), Kontakt auf:

Jetzt registrieren beim SES

Sie möchten sich bei Team works! engagieren, Ihr Fachwissen international einbringen und junge Menschen bei ihrem Einsatz in einem afrikanischen Land oder in Deutschland begleiten? Legen Sie Ihr Profil in der Datenbank des SES an oder wenden Sie sich mit Ihren Fragen und Anregungen direkt an uns!

Interviews

Max Orthey, geboren 1999, Chemielaborant, 3. Lehrjahr, aus Köln, Deutschland.

„Ich finde es wichtig, andere Kulturen kennenzulernen, weil man dann auch die eigene Kultur aus einem anderen Blickwinkel betrachten kann.“

Tamryn Iyer, geboren 1996, Sozialwissenschaftlerin aus Durban, Südafrika.

„Ich hatte bereits die Möglichkeit, international Erfahrung zu sammeln. Man lernt, global zu denken. Und das wünsche ich anderen genauso. Deshalb finde ich dieses Programm so toll!“

AKTUELLE NACHRICHTEN

Der Senior Experten Service (SES) ist einer der zentralen Partner im neuen Deutsch-Afrikanischen Jugendwerk (DAJW). Mit Team works! führt die Bonner Organisation eine von zwei Programmlinien des heute im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) in Berlin vorgestellten Jugendwerks durch und wird sich in Zukunft noch stärker für die Begegnung von deutschen und afrikanischen Fachkräften einsetzen.

mehr erfahren

Wir stellen vor: Unser Partner, der Senior Experten Service

Der Senior Experten Service (SES) ist die größte deutsche Entsendeorganisation für ehrenamtliche Fach- und Führungskräfte im Ruhestand oder in einer beruflichen Auszeit beim Weltdienst 30+. Die rund 12.000 Expertinnen und Experten des SES kommen aus allen Branchen und geben ihr Know-how im In- und Ausland weiter. In den internationalen Einsätzen arbeiten sie insbesondere mit kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen, öffentlichen Verwaltungen, sozialen und medizinischen Einrichtungen und Institutionen der Grund- und Berufsbildung zusammen. Für das DAJW setzt der SES die Programmlinie Team works! um. Mit den Tandemeinsätzen einer erfahrenen und einer jungen Fachkraft erweitert der SES sein Programm um eine neue Komponente: die generationenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit. Das macht unser Jugendwerk stärker – und den SES auch!

Zur Website vom SES

Die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung

Der „Weltzukunftsvertrag“: 2015 haben sich die Vereinten Nationen mit der Agenda 2030 auf 17 globale Nachhaltigkeitsziele verständigt. Auch das DAJW möchte zur Erfüllung dieser Ziele beitragen. Jedes Vorhaben von Team works! widmet sich daher explizit mindestens einem von ihnen.